Thursday; Packing/Unpacking and Two Videos

A package from Midway USA arrived at my door today with a Glock spring loaded bearing I’ve been needing, along with some B-8 Repair Centers. Still waiting on my new extractor to finish (hopefully) fixing the issues with my G19, but I won’t get to check it out for a little while yet as I’m in the process of packing for a backpacking trip with friends this weekend. Here’s a couple of videos that I found interesting this week:

1) Forgotten Weapons posted this piece examining a prototype Colt made to fill the SOCOM request for an Offensive Handgun Weapon System that ended up being won by H&K with the Mk. 23. It’s an interesting combination of time-tested features from 1911s, design elements borrowed from failures like the Double Eagle and All American 2000, and just plain weirdness like a spring-loaded, frame-mounted compensator for attaching a suppressor. While it’s no surprise that Colt’s entry lost, it still makes for a fascinating piece of SOF weapons history.

2) Trigger Time TV posted this video to their YouTube channel with Frank Proctor explaining the how’s and why’s of using a 50 yard zero and how to establish it from the ten yard line. I use a 50/pseudo-200 zero myself. While I’ve never tried it from 10 yds, I’ll be sure to try this technique the next time I confirm zero.

Leave a Reply

